Holiday Party Look: Red Lips vs Nude Lips!

26 Nov

VS

December is a few days away and you wonder what you should wear for the company holiday party? “Should I go for the classic red lips or stick with the smoked out eye makeup and keep the lips muted?” Well let me give you some ideas of what is trending for the FALL season. For those of you who knows me well, I really love Rachel Zoe and Victoria Beckham’s styles. These designers are absolutely CHIC and they’re both icons for wearing two of my favorite lip colors (red and nude). I love wearing red lips with a flawless face, winged out black eyeliner and tons of mascara, with or without faux lashes.

A classic look of red lips with defined eyeliner.

Neutral eyes with lots of mascara.

Make a statement wearing a precisely defined classic red lips with blue smokey eyes. A true Hollywood glamour.

Here are some of the particular bright red lip colors I am totally head over heels with. Each product just gives me that particular bright red I like that screams KISS ME! KISS ME!

SEPHORA Cream Lip Stain in Always Red ($12)

 BITE High Pigment Lip Pencil in Pomegranate ($24)

   YSL Rouge Pur Couture Lipstick in Le Rouge, ($50)

 Most would disagree to having dark eyes with bright lips but nowadays who’s to say we can’t have both. With red lips, you can pretty much use any color to create the smokey effect. The key for this classic look is to have your lips perfectly lined. A flawless face gives the lips the “spotlight,” since everything else is muted. Celebrities who are popular with this look includes Jennifer Lopez, Kim Kardashian, Scarlet Johannson and many more.

Nude lips is another option. I like wearing nude lips when I want to play around with my eye makeup. Most of the times, I like to emphasize my eyes, and I usually opt for bold colors. In my personal experience, bold eyes and bright lips do not look good on me. But I have seen many wear both and they look absolutely gorgeous (feeling a little envious).

Flawless face and neutral/smokey eyeshadow with NUDE lips.

 Celebrities strut down the red carpet with the most desired NUDE LIPS.

My favorite lip products in NUDE are as follows: THEY’RE TO DIE FOR:

YSL Rouge Volupté in #1Nude Beige or #4 Sweet Honey ($34)

Bare Escentuals BUXOM Big & Healthy Stick in Marragech ($18)

NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Belle de Jour ($24)

MAKEUP FOREVER Rouge Artist Intense in Matte Flesh ($19)

Regardless of which lip hue you’d go for, the important matter is that you feel good about yourself. When you put on that dress and whip up a glamourous hairstyle with amazing accessories, your makeup with flow with it. So put on that party dress and killer pumps or boots, you are well on your way to a night of FUN! 🙂

Leave a comment

